La Mer Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for LaMer The SPF 30 UV Protecting Fluid

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at La Mer.

The SPF 30 UV Protecting Fluid

Daily defense against potentially damaging light and the appearance of future skin discoloration.
Overall Rating:
4.809 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(110 reviews) 93
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 110 reviews
5 Stars
95
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
96% of 110people would recommend to a friend
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for The SPF 30 UV Protecting Fluid
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarBy: MelissaK
fromNew York, NY
Skin Concern:Hydration
Yes, I recommend this product.

Love!

PostedMarch 3, 2013
I love this product, I use it everyday and especially when I'm out in the sun. It hasn't been discontinued, apparently they are repackaging it so it's selling out. I stopped by Bloomingdales to pick up a new bottle and this is what I was told. The La Mer representative was able to order it for me from the fulfillment center. I hope it's back on shelves soon!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The SPF 30 UV Protecting Fluid
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarBy: Katz
fromMissouri
Yes, I recommend this product.

great product but no longer available

PostedJanuary 23, 2013
This is an excellent product, and everyone seems to love it. Does anyone know why it has been discontinued?
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The SPF 30 UV Protecting Fluid
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarBy: MMichael
fromSt.Petersburg, FL
Skin Type:Combination
Skin Concern:Prevention
Yes, I recommend this product.

Great sunscreen

PostedNovember 16, 2011
Benefits: non-greasy, light, high spf protection, non pore clogging
I bought this SPF 30 to use on my face for my cruise last week. I have sensitive skin and I suffer from mild to moderate breakouts. I also suffer from some monthly cystic acne on my jaw line. I choose to wear makeup even when I am at the beach or pool because the acne has left scarring. I still have a significant amount of unevenness in my skin from past acne, current acne, acne medication, acne treatments and past sun damage. I live in Florida so a daily SPF 30 under my makeup is must year round. Many other facial sunscreens that claim to be oil free and non-pore clogging are very oily and very pore clogging...this SPF 30 is in a different class of SPF's. I loved the silky texture, it is creamy on the skin and it does provide some moisture, but it isn't greasy at all. My makeup stayed on all day in 90 degree heat on top of a topical acne cream, La Mer face lotion, the La Mer SPF 30 and several spritzes of the MIST! It did not feel heavy, my skin could breath, and I returned home from my vacation with less acne than what I left with and zero sunburn. I am an SPF 30 devotee. Now La Mer needs to make bigger bottles for the body SPF.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The SPF 30 UV Protecting Fluid
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarBy: Mayyam
fromLA LA land
Skin Type:Combination
Skin Concern:Hydration
Yes, I recommend this product.

no breakouts

PostedSeptember 5, 2012
Benefits: sun-protection
I have acne-prone skin yet my skin is actually dry-combination. As a result I am always facing a dilemma that on one hand, my skin feels dehydrated which was caused by most oil-free sun-screen products, while on the other hand my skin tends to get oily if there is too much moisture. La Mer sunscreen solves my dilemma--it does not make me breakout, it provides some moisturizing effect without getting my skin greasy, so my face gets the ideal sun-protection that it needs. Although you have to know the trick of applying it is to PAT it onto your skin but not spread it over which will make your skin feel greasy sometimes.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The SPF 30 UV Protecting Fluid
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarBy: lilredccc
fromYork County, PA
Skin Type:Oily
Skin Concern:Prevention
Yes, I recommend this product.

The best facial SPF out there

PostedAugust 17, 2010
I'm a fair-skinned redhead who has literally spent years trying to find the perfect sunscreen for my face. I have very oily skin and most SPFs or moisturizers containing SPF only exacerbate the problem. I had always been intrigued by the mythical La Mer line and when I read the rave reviews about this product when it first came out, I just had to try it.
It wasn't love at first use because the consistancy is a little weird - very runny and almost greasy-feeling. It doesn't absorb quickly, so at first, I assumed I would end up with the usual overabundance of oil. Happily, I was wrong...I wouldn't call it mattifying, but it definitely balanced out my skin to a comfortable level. I went months without using my oil-blotting sheets, which for me is a big deal. I've tried other products since discovering La Mer's protecting fluid, but I always come back to it.
My only gripe - the price point, as with all La Mer products, is pretty steep for what you get. But don't let that discourage you from trying it...it's very much worth it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The SPF 30 UV Protecting Fluid
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarBy: ChaCha
fromOn a ranch in Oklahoma!
Skin Type:Combination
Skin Concern:Prevention
Yes, I recommend this product.

Don't go outside without it!

PostedMarch 25, 2010
Benefits: evens out skin tones, diminishes wrinkling
La Mer's SPF 30 UV Protecting Fluid is the one product I delayed purchasing. My thoughts were it was yet another product to layer on, and, really, how important could it be? After finally telling myself "You are so worth it!", I ordered online. Shazaam! After only a week, I could tell my skin tone was evening out. Within a month dare I say it looked as if I had undergone some expensive chemical or laser treatment...
I love the way it doesn't make my t-zone oily. I love the way it absorbs oh so quickly. I love the way it allows the sun to gently kiss my skin but not mar it. I love the way it perfectly interacts with my other La Mer products. Now tell me, what more could a girl ask for?
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The SPF 30 UV Protecting Fluid
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarBy: Kiav
fromSBB, NJ
Skin Type:Combination
Skin Concern:Wrinkle Reduction
Yes, I recommend this product.

Best sunscreen under makeup

PostedJune 22, 2011
Simply wonderful - my face sunscreen search is over! I've tried many sunscreens for the face; searching for the perfect combination of protection, feel, look and compatibility with make-up; search no more this one has it all. i do not burn when I use this makeup (even a day down the shore), it absorbs quickly and feels smooth and silky within minutes, no white cast or residue and it is terrific under makeup (just give it about 15 minutes before applying makeup). I keep one in my purse to apply to my hands and the exposed part of my arms when driving home from work. Thanks La Mer - I'm hoping you have a body SPF lotion in the works! :)
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The SPF 30 UV Protecting Fluid
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarBy: Rush
fromNew York, NY
Skin Type:Combination
Skin Concern:Prevention
No, I do not recommend this product.

Great Product

PostedJune 17, 2009
This product was worth the money spent! I am a Black American female who struggles to find products that work. This product has changed that. It works well alone or can be paired with the moisturizer (as long as it is from La Mer)!).
The only down side were the samples. I was really looking forward to them, and was disappointed not to receive what I ordered. I recognize they are free..
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The SPF 30 UV Protecting Fluid
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarBy: deblog
fromFoothills, CA
Skin Type:Combination
Skin Concern:Hydration
Yes, I recommend this product.

Non-greasy sun protection!

PostedAugust 18, 2009
I have tried many sun protection lotions for my face and this is the first one that isn't oily, doesn't seem to run into my eyes when I get hot, and leaves my skin with a nice matt finish. I use it over the Moisturing Lotion and the combo has been perfect for my skin. A little goes a long way so don't panic when you see how small the bottle is, it will last!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The SPF 30 UV Protecting Fluid
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarBy: frpmvw
fromRichmond, Texas
Skin Type:Oily
Skin Concern:Even Skin Tone
Yes, I recommend this product.

Wonderful Surprise

PostedOctober 2, 2009
Benefits: light and great sun coverage
I have been using another SPF that was recommended for oily/acne prone skin. Although it seem to provide protection it was heavy and weighing down my skin. I purchased the SPF 30 UV Protecting Fluid. After a week I noticed my skin had a brighter complexion. The sun coverage is amazing and I began to use it on my hands and other areas. Great job La Mer!!!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The SPF 30 UV Protecting Fluid
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarBy: Trish
fromNew York, NY
Skin Type:Dry
Skin Concern:Wrinkle Reduction
Yes, I recommend this product.

was hoping for lighter cream

PostedJuly 20, 2010
I have spf50 LaRoche Posay which it is very sticky so I hoped that this would be lighter. It has the same consistency but perhaps not quite so sticky but not quite such good coverage either. It is a white fluid that one spreads over the face. Hoped for something more like the gel.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The SPF 30 UV Protecting Fluid
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarBy: Leanne
fromJC, TN
Skin Type:Combination
Skin Concern:Prevention
Yes, I recommend this product.

Love it!

PostedOctober 14, 2011
I love this sunscreen - the texture feels so good on my face!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The SPF 30 UV Protecting Fluid
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarBy: 8665
fromDelray Beach, FL
Skin Type:Dry
Skin Concern:Hydration
Yes, I recommend this product.

Great product

PostedDecember 13, 2010
Benefits: sun screen
This is a great product that goes over the moisturing lotion very easily. It feels terrific on my skin and has a high SPF which is great since I live in a sunny climate and teach water aerobics.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The SPF 30 UV Protecting Fluid
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarBy: leon
fromMI
Skin Type:Dry
Skin Concern:Hydration
Yes, I recommend this product.

The Best sunblock ever

PostedMarch 4, 2011
Benefits: non-oily
absorb quickly and didn't feel oily at all. it would be better if it has higher spf
use after the cream can boost the effect
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The SPF 30 UV Protecting Fluid
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarBy: Trips
fromMD
Yes, I recommend this product.

What a product!

PostedMay 10, 2011
The wife's skin has never looked younger or felt softer
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The SPF 30 UV Protecting Fluid
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarBy: Kathy223
fromSayville, NY
Skin Type:Normal
Skin Concern:Hydration
Yes, I recommend this product.

Like it...Don't Love It.

PostedMay 6, 2012
I like the SPF 30 Fluid except that it is too runny or lose. It actually dripped down my face when I applied a dab of it on my cheek. I love the way it smells, and I love how it feels when I rub it in. I just wish it were a bit thicker.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The SPF 30 UV Protecting Fluid
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarBy: neomd
fromGeorgia
Skin Type:Combination
Skin Concern:Wrinkle Reduction
Yes, I recommend this product.

Best sunscreen!

PostedFebruary 21, 2012
I have combination and acne prone skin. Tried different brands but made me breakout, face became more oily, make-up slides off, etc. The SPF 30 UV Protecting Fluid is the best one I've used and I repeatedly bought this product. Gives a matte appearance, excellent base for make-up and no breakouts!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The SPF 30 UV Protecting Fluid
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarBy: LaVerneMom
fromLa Verne, Ca
Skin Type:Combination
Skin Concern:Prevention
Yes, I recommend this product.

Best Sunscreen

PostedOctober 8, 2010
In my opinion sunscreen is the most important thing to use on your face. If you use it every day you will not have to spend your money buying all of those expensive anti-aging products. I have always known how important it is to use sunscreen but I honestly hated the way it felt on my face. But this product is so lightweight and moisturizing and it doesn't matter if you use powder or foundation, both go on beautifully over it. The bottle looks small but you don't need to use much at a time.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The SPF 30 UV Protecting Fluid
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarBy: NanDot
fromLos Angeles
Skin Type:Dry
Skin Concern:Even Skin Tone
Yes, I recommend this product.

Unique

PostedFebruary 10, 2011
Benefits: better than most moisturizers
This is a lovely sunscreen - the best I've used and I will continue to purchase it. I've noticed other companies developing a 50 spf, so if LaMer follows suit, I will definitely try it.
I was the one who thought I didn't need a sunscreen because I spent so little time outdoors, but the trips from the parking lot to the store, and walking the dog, and noon lunchbreaks have all added up. Wish I would have started using the sunscreen about 10 years earlier!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The SPF 30 UV Protecting Fluid
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarBy: WorkinMominNYC
fromNew York, NY
Skin Type:Combination
Skin Concern:Wrinkle Reduction
Yes, I recommend this product.

It's the one!

PostedJuly 26, 2011
Benefits: sun protection
La Mer did it again! This is the best sunscreen for your face. I have worn to the beach, to the mountains, etc and it has protected my face completely.
Usually sunscreens make me break out but this one does not. That alone made it worth the money for me.
A little goes a long way so even though it's a small container, you should get a few months out of it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>